The Addition Machine

Ever wondered what to do with that spare bit of space behind the door or around the corner? You can’t fit a table there and it’s not right for a display either. I had that problem too until I spotted this clever little interactive display on Pinterest.

Now, I’m not too sure who to credit for this as I spotted it on a few Pinterest accounts which led to here, here and here. But to whoever came up with this idea, thank you!

Here is my version of The Addition Machine (although it can become The Subtraction Machine too):

2014-11-20 07.23.39

It was relatively simply to make and can really be constructed out of any materials you have. I’ve cut the bottom off of some yoghurt pots and attached them to the toilet roll tubes. The laminated pieces of card above each tube are to write in the number of balls, counters, cubes etc that get dropped down each tube, and to the right (although not pictured) I have a blackboard where they can write the completed number sentence.

This is a fantastic interactive display for those students who finish maths activities early or introduce/reinforce addition strategies. And of course, this could easily be manipulated to suit subtraction too.

Leave a comment